Award Winners

Award Winners

Charlotte Zolotow Award
The Charlotte Zolotow Award is given annually for outstanding writing in a picture book published in the United States in the preceding year.

Coretta Scott King Award
Awarded annually to authors and illustrators of African descent whose work promotes the "American Dream."

Coretta Scott King - Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement
Recognizes outstanding African-American authors, illustrators or author/illustrators and practitioners for lasting and significant contributions to youth or young adult literature.

Edgar Award
The Edgar Allan Poe Awards (the Edgars) are awarded to authors of distinguished work in various categories of the genre including Young Adult and Juvenile mysteries.

Hans Christian Andersen Award
Every other year the Hans Christian Andersen Award is presented to a living author and illustrator whose complete works have made a lasting contribution to children's literature.

John Newbery Medal
Awarded annually to the author of the most distinguished book for children.

John Steptoe Award for New Talent
Awarded annually to a black author and a black illustrator beginning his/her career.

Laura Ingalls Wilder Medal
Awarded on an irregular basis to authors or illustrators whose books have made a substantial and lasting contribution to children's literature.

Little Maverick Graphic Novel Reading List
The Little Maverick Graphic Novel Reading List is a recommended reading list designed for children in grades K-5. The purpose of the list is to encourage students to explore a variety of current graphic novels.

Mildred L. Batchelder Award
Awarded to an outstanding children's book originally published in a foreign language and subsequently translated into English and published in America.

NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Literary Work for Children
The NAACP Image Awards honor outstanding works in the literature and entertainment fields.

National Book Award for Young People's Literature
Presented each year to recognize outstanding children's literature.

Notable Children's Books
Each year the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) identifies the best of the best in children's books.

Notable Children's Recordings
Each year the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) identifies the best of the best in children's recordings.

Pura Belpre Award
Awarded biennially to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work captures the Latino cultural experience in a work for children and youth.

Randolph Caldecott Medal
Awarded annually to the illustrator of the most distinguished picture book for children.

Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award
Awarded annually to the author of the most distinguished informational book.

Schneider Family Book Award
Honors an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences.

Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction
Awarded annually to encourage authors to write historical fiction.

Texas Bluebonnet Award Nominees 2016-2017
Created from suggestions by librarians, teachers, students, and others. Students in grades 3-6 vote in January for the winner.  

Texas Bluebonnet Award Winners
List of yearly winners of the Texas Bluebonnet Award from 1981 to present.

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award
Awarded annually to the outstanding book for beginning readers.

2 X 2 Reading List
20 books recommended for children age 2 to grade 2.